Friday, October 17, 2014

Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops (1994)

Previously on OPIUM HUM:
Acid Bath - Paegan Terrorism Tactics (1996)

Debut album of innovative, skin-crawling, psychedelic sludge from this tragically defunct band. Dope, hallucinations, murder, and riffs. I'm probably not doing them any favors by mentioning that they sometimes bring to mind a way more fucked up, un-commercial Soundgarden, but listen to "Tranquilized" and tell me I'm wrong.

Track listing:
1. The Blue
2. Tranquilized
3. Cheap Vodka
4. Finger Paintings of the Insane
5. Jezebel
6. Scream of the Butterfly
7. Dr. Suess Is Dead
8. Dope Fiend
9. Toubabo Koomi
10. God Machine
11. The Mortician's Flame
12. What Color Is Death
13. The Bones of Baby Dolls
14. Cassie Eats Cockroaches

The pigs will squeal
Their blood will drain
Finger paintings of the insane
Slice the throats of authority
Look deep past the skin and you will see
I am the messiah


  1. Totally forgot about these, thank you for the reminder. I was never enamored of the Seattle/grunge stuff which may be a reason Acid Bath didn't stick here. Having one of their band members killed didn't help their trajectory either. Listening again reminds they had potent and somewhat genre blurring thing happening. Which is always cool. But I gravitate towards music I can't memorize, so stuff that falls into a more traditional 'rock' classification usually gets sidelined in my quarters.

  2. Juste pour dire merci pour ton blog. Des tas de merveilles à découvrir, beaucoup d'excellentes choses que j'avais oublié ou perdu, ça fait plaisir de voir un tel éclectisme !