Wednesday, September 25, 2013

David Darling - Journal October (1979)

Darkly gorgeous debut album by American cellist David Darling. Arguably his finest collection, Journal October is a fully solo endeavor, most of which consists of lush, layered cellos, with some sparse percussive and vocal elements finding their ways onto a few tracks. While the album certainly contains many moments of pure, contented beauty, each track is permeated with a sense of restlessness and sorrow - the persistent chugging in "Slow Return"; the drawn-out, dissonant chords in "Clouds" - that grants Journal October greater emotional and sonic complexity than one might expect from an artist whose last album won the Grammy for Best New Age Album.

Track listing:
1. Slow Return
2. Bells and Gongs
3. Far Away Lights
4. Solo Cello
5. Minor Blue
6. Clouds
7. Solo Cello
8. Solo Cello and Voice
9. Journal October, Stuttgart

No place nowhere