Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Stomu Yamashta, Steve Winwood, & Michael Shrieve - Go (1976)

Just picked this up on vinyl for two bucks -- not sure if it's underrated or it's yet another example of my increasingly terrible taste in music. Either way, what we have here is some laid-back prog rock a la Dark Side of the Moon surrounded by synth-led excursions to the outer limits. Sweeping symphonic accompaniments and soulful backing vocals lend Goa dramatic, cinematic air. Factor in a brief, unexpected but convincingly executed foray into funk, and you're looking at a pretty sweet album.

Track listing:
1. Solitude
2. Nature
3. Air Over
4. Crossing the Line
5. Man of Leo
6. Stellar
7. Space Theme
8. Space Requiem
9. Space Song
10. Carnival
11. Ghost Machine
12. Surfspin
13. Time Is Here
14. Winner Loser

Wake me up on judgement day

No comments:

Post a Comment