Thursday, August 15, 2013

The Abyss - The Other Side (1995) + Summon the Beast (1996)

Some pretty sweet black metal from three members of melodeath pioneers Hypocrisy. During their short run, The Abyss stuck pretty close to the good ol' standbys of relentless blasting, icy tremolo picking, and grim rasps, with a clean guitar passage thrown in here and there for dynamic. This is especially true on Summon the Beast. There are some bass solos; I guess that's kinda unorthodox. So, while it's certainly not groundbreaking music, the musicianship is top notch, and more importantly, it sound far more passionate and convincing than one might expect from a genre-driven side project.

Track listing:
-The Other Side-
1. Marutukk
2. Tjänare af Besten
3. Psycomantum
4. Massacra
5. Mörkrets Vandring
6. Sorgens Dal
7. Slukad
8. Förintelsens Tid äro Kommen
-Summon the Beast-
1. Satan's Majestic Empire
2. Blessed with the Wrath of Evil
3. Damned
4. Summon the Beast
5. The Hymn
6. Cursed
7. Feasting the Remains of Heaven
8. The Arrival

Away is the sun, endless the night

1 comment: