Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Chubby Checker - Chubby Checker (1971)

Chubby Checker's foray into psychedelia is often, perhaps correctly, considered more of a curio than a classic. However, it is consistently enjoyable, and it contains some absolutely killer tracks, such as the fuzzed-out "My Mind," the whimsical but heady "Stoned in the Bathroom," and the show-stopping, tortured, "He Died," a true lost classic of outsider Christian spirituality.

Track listing:
1. Goodbye Victoria
2. My Mind
3. Slow Lovin'
4. If the Sun Stopped Shining
5. Stoned in the Bathroom
6. Love Tunnel
7. How Does It Feel
8. He Died
9. No Need to Get So Heavy
10. Let's Go Down
11. Ballad of Jimi

The sun was burning down on you, mister
And you had thorns in your head
They nailed you to the cross
Oh, how you bled
I looked right up at you
And right now I can see, it must have been a lonely way to go

No comments:

Post a Comment