Friday, February 28, 2014

The Durutti Column - LC (1981)

The Durutti Column are, according to their Wiki (I have no idea, I just got into them a couple of weeks ago through some weird internet K-hole) from England, and they revolve around one central member, Vini Reilly, who apparently was/is bros with Ian Curtis and Morrissey. For such a cohesive, simple-sounding album, LC brings some seemingly disparate artists and genres to mind -- early Cure (esp. "All Cats Are Grey"), Paul Simon, and a little krautrock, maybe? Lots of low-key instrumentals, echoing guitars, simple drumming, piano... pretty charming stuff. This reissue has twenty-three bonus tracks following the original ten, and they're great, so I'm including 'em.

Track listing:
-Disc One-
1. Sketch for Dawn 1
2. Portrait for Frazer
3. Jacqueline
4. Messidor
5. Sketch for Dawn 2
6. Never Known
7. The Act Committed
8. Detail for Paul
9. The Missing Boy
10. The Sweet Cheat Gone
11. Danny
12. Enigma
13. For Mimi
14. For Belgian Friends
15. Self-Portrait
16. Favourite Painting
17. Zinni
-Disc Two-
1. Mavuchka
2. Experiment in Fifth
3. Portrait for Paul
4. The Act Committed
5. Portrait for Frazer
6. Never Known
7. Untitled LC Demo
8. For Patti
9. Weakness and Fever
10. The Eye and the Hand
11. Party
12. One Christmas for Your Thoughts
13. Homage to Martinu
14. Sleep Will Come
15. Piece for an Ideal
16. Piece of Out of Tune Grand Piano



  1. OK, not sure if that comment worked, but big ups for posting DC, one of my faves...

    1. Weird, apparently it didn't work. That's not surprising, definitely sounds like something you'd like!

  2. Thanks for sharing, I have the original on vinyl & a nice boxed Factory cassette