Monday, December 23, 2013

Jeremy Enigk - Return of the Frog Queen (1996)

Following the first breakup of Sunny Day Real Estate, frontman Jeremy Enigk went into the studio with an acoustic guitar and a full orchestra (plus, from the sound of it, a case of whiskey), and recorded this woozy masterpiece. The songs are complex, the instrumental arrangements ornate and psychedelic, and Enigk's already surreal lyrics, which may or may not be addressing his then newfound love for Jesus, are further abstracted as he slurs and shouts his way through every song.

Track listing:
1. Abegail Anne
2. Return of the Frog Queen
3. Lewis Hollow
4. Lizard
5. Carnival
6. Call Me Steam
7. Explain
8. Shade and the Black Hat
9. Fallen Heart

Rise and shine to the smell of flowers