Sunday, December 8, 2013

Vinterriket - Eiszwielicht / Firntann (2010)

Vinterriket is a one-man project from Germany whose discography is composed of about 85% icy, minimalistic, synth-based ambient music, and 15% atmospheric black metal. The two EPs that are compiled on this release fit neatly into the former category; Eiszwielicht is all drifting synths, while Firtann mixes it up a bit with some programmed drums and whispered vocals.

The fact that this style of music ever caught on with the black metal crowd is a testimony to the power of one's chosen aesthetic. I say this because, aside from a few grainy black and white pics of trees, Vinterriket is practically indistinguishable from the new age-y sounds of, say, Steve Roach or Michael Stearns. Of course, it's also a testimony to the long-reaching influence of everyone's favorite delusional, homicidal racist, Burzum, who pioneered the art of black metal dudes plinking around on keyboards back in the early 90s.

Track listing:
1. Eistränen
2. Eisleere
3. Forstestrübe
4. Schneehain

Twilight of ice


  1. hi, please add my blog in your list, thanks.

    1. You're already on there, thanks for all the great music!!

    2. Oh, I see, it's a new one. Done.