Friday, July 24, 2015

Babe Ruth - First Base (1972)

First Base is one of those albums that never get much play until summer rolls around. Vocalist Janita Hanna belting out lyrics about rock-a-rollin' and easy livin' amidst twin guitar leads, wailing sax leads, and half-funk-half-prog grooves only seems to make sense with sunshine on your face and wind in your hair. Which is not to say that there's not emotional and sonic depth -- see the strings and flute on the haunting "The Runaways" -- but overall, these are summer jams, straight up, and you will want to put "The Mexican" on every road trip mix/playlist you make for the rest of your life.

Track listing:
1. Wells Fargo
2. The Runaways
3. King Kong
4. Black Dog
5. The Mexican
6. Joker

"The time has now come," said the man with the gun
To the crowd as they all turned away

1 comment:

  1. Damn, instantly recognized that one lick in "The Mexican" from Organized Konfusion's "Prisoners of War". The beats and rhymes on that album were far ahead of their time.