Sunday, May 7, 2017

Drain - Pick Up Heaven (1992)

Sample-heavy psych/noise rock from a trio that included King Coffey, founding drummer for the Butthole Surfers. Though many of their songs are instrumental, the near-constant use of samples -- many of which are of people singing -- lends the songs a similar presence.

Track listing:
1. National Anthem
2. Crawfish
3. Martyr's Road
4. Non Compis Mentis
5. Funeral Pyre
6. Ozark Monkey Chant
7. Instant Hippie
8. Flower Mound
9. Every Secret Thing
10. The Ballad of Miss Toni Fisher

Love and peace
Open sex
Acid, acid, acid, acid

You should also be listening to:
Fatso Jetson -
Stinky Little Gods (1995)
Fuzz Orchestra -
Comunicato n°2 (2009)


  1. Wow, how have I never heard this before??
    Thank you!!!!!!!!!

    1. This has the drummer King Coffey from the Butthole Surfers. good stuff!