Saturday, January 25, 2014

A Place to Bury Strangers - Worship (2012)

NYC power trio A Place to Bury Strangers applies a muscular post-punk rhythm section and a violent, gothic aesthetic to the strung out, noise fucked yet melodic sounds of Pyschocandy. For Worship, their third album, they ease back just a bit, resulting in a more accessible style - if it weren't for the emotionally desolate lyrics, "And I'm Up" would be the first upbeat song they've recorded - and a more dynamic, spacious mix that allows the listener to hear, in crystalline detail, guitarist Oliver Ackermann's exquisite textures and tones.

Track listing:
1. Alone
2. You Are the One
3. Mind Control
4. Worship
5. Fear
6. Dissolved
7. Why I Can't Cry Anymore
8. Revenge
9. And I'm Up
10. Slide
11. Leaving Tomorrow

It's gone