Friday, January 3, 2014

Iggy Pop & James Williamson - Kill City (1977)

Recorded by Pop and Stooges guitarist James Williamson in 1975 (that's two years after Raw Power), Kill City can be considered a 'lost' Stooges record. As might be expected, they continue their progression towards a more easily digestible, Stones-y sound, while retaining the nasty, unhinged delivery and sense of drug-fueled, sex-crazed abandon that helped to make the Stooges one of the greatest rock and roll bands of all time. There are strutting rockers ("Beyond the Law", "Consolation Prizes"), dark, saxophone-driven protopunk ballads ("Sell Your Love"), some of the most unabashedly 'pretty' moments in the Stooges' catalog ("I Got Nothin'", "No Sense of Crime"), and even some synths. Don't be fooled by the half-assed album cover -- this is mandatory.

Track listing:
1. Kill City
2. Sell Your Love
3. Beyond the Law
4. I Got Nothin'
5. Johanna
6. Night Theme
7. Night Theme (Reprise)
8. Consolation Prizes
9. No Sense of Crime
10. Lucky Monkeys
11. Master Charge

The scene is fascination, man, and everything's for free
'Til you wind up in some bathroom overdosed and on your knees

1 comment: