Sunday, November 17, 2013

Oneness of Juju - African Rhythms (1975)

KILLER, percussion-heavy jazz-funk jams designed to free both mind and booty. For maximum party, the first side of the LP is mixed as a single, extremely dance-friendly set; the second side, while just as great, breaks up the party with the hypnotic, downtempo, slightly menacing "Incognito". Very few of us are as rad as the men and women involved in the making of this record, but at least we can listen and pretend, right?

Track listing:
1. African Rhythms
2. Kazi
3. Funky Wood
4. Tarishi
5. Mashariki
6. Chants
7. Don't Give Up
8. Incognito
9. Poo Too
10. Liberation Dues
11. Liberation Dues (Instrumental) (bonus)
12. African Rhythms (45 Version) (bonus)

Keep on pushin'