Monday, June 16, 2014

Michael Shrieve - Stiletto (1989)

Previously on OPIUM HUM
Stomu Yamashta, Steve Winwood, & Michael Shrieve - Go (1976)
Michael Shrieve & David Beal - The Big Picture (1988)
Michael Shrieve & Steve Roach - The Leaving Time (1989)

Stiletto is a first-rate album, led by drummer Michael Shrieve, of icy, atmospheric jazz that would have sounded right at home on ECM. Fans of Terje Rypdal will appreciate the shimmering, swelling guitar work of David Torn, an incredible guitarist whose work I really should have posted on here by now. Also, if you haven't already, I highly recommend checking out The Leaving Time, Shrieve's collaboration with Steve Roach, which I have linked above.

Track listing:
1. Scratch
2. Moon Over You
3. Las Vegas Tango
4. Gauguin's Regret
5. Stiletto
6. Four Winds
7. Bella Coola

The invisible architect

No comments:

Post a Comment