Friday, May 16, 2014

Michael Stearns - Encounter (A Journey in the Key of Space) (1988)

Previously on OPIUM HUM:
Michael Stearns - Floating Whispers (1987)

Take a synth-tastic trip to another dimension with ambient/new age master Michael Stearns. Encounter is, seemingly, a concept album about interdimensional space travel, and for music that's composed entirely of synthesizers, it paints a pretty vivid picture.

Track listing:
1. Encounter: Awaiting the Other
2. Craft: Dimensional Release
3. The Beacon: Those Who Have Gone Before
4. On the Way: Space Caravan
5. Dimensional Shift: Across the Threshold
6. Within: Choir of the Ascending Spirit
7. Distant Thunder: Solitary Witness
8. Alien Shore: Starlight Bay
9. Procession: Sacred Ceremony
10. Star Dreams: Peace Eternal

As the earth kissed the moon


  1. Replies
    1. Oh, it is! One of Stearns' best, for sure.

  2. Thanks for this. I'm a big space music fan this is great