Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Cortex - Troupeau Bleu (1975)

Chilled-out, impossibly cool French jazz-funk. Piano, fretless bass, and drums provide the foundation for Mireille Dabray's airy vocals and the occasional sax or synth solo. It's hard to imagine that the readers of my nerdy music blog wouldn't be aware of a fusion-related album this awesome, but if I managed to sleep on it until recently, there's a good chance that you have, too. Smooth as Dave Chapelle's balls.

Track listing:
1. La Rue
2. Automne (Colchiques Dans Les Prés)
3. L'Enfant Samba
4. Troupeau Bleu
5. Prélude À "Go Round"
6. Go Round
7. Chanson D'Un Jour d'Hiver
8. Mary Et Jeff
9. Huit Octobre 1971
10. Sabbat (1ère Partie)
11. Sabbat (2ème Partie)
12. Sabbat (3ème Partie)
13. Madbass
14. Jazz Dance [bonus]

I heard a sigh

More of that sweet stuff:

Roy Ayers - Coffy (1973)
Joe Henderson - Multiple (1973)


  1. sounds like a good'un. welcome back, brotherman.

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.