Monday, November 18, 2013

Royal Trux - Untitled (1992)

In which NYC duo Royal Trux, having conquered the world of experimental 'rock' with the monolithic Twin Infinitives, start exploring more traditional songwriting, while retaining their ragged, noisy, drug-addled approach, and create the sound that would more or less provide the basis for the rest of their recorded output.

FUN FACT: Did you know that that song by the two skater kids in High Fidelity is actually "The Inside Game" by Royal Trux? This is not some huge secret - it's on the soundtrack under its actual name - but still, I didn't know that until years after the fact, so maybe you didn't know, either? Whatever, I don't have to explain myself to you, get the fuck out of my house.

Track listing:
1. Air
2. Move
3. Hallucination
4. Junkie Nurse
5. Sometimes
6. Lightning Boxer
7. Blood Flowers
8. Sun on the Run

Lovely nurse, my junkie nurse, I never wanna burn ya down, so just bring me a prescription when you next come downtown.