Sunday, February 1, 2015

Terje Rypdal - After the Rain (1976)

Previously on OPIUM HUM:
Terje Rypdal - Bleak House (1968)
Terje Rypdal, Miroslav Vitous, and Jack DeJohnette - S/T (1979)
Terje Rypdal, Miroslav Vitous, and Jack DeJohnette - To Be Continued
Ketil Bjørnstad, David Darling, Terje Rypdal, & Jon Christensen - The Sea (1995) + The Sea II (1998)

Atmospheric jazz fusion from this Norwegian guitarist/ECM great. Though many of Rypdal's records, such as What Comes After and Odyssey (released in '74 and '75, respectively) qualify as some of ECM's most raucous, prog-y releases, After the Rain, a fully solo effort, is a low-key, almost folky affair. His big, distinctive leads are still present, but here they soar over acoustic guitars, piano, synthesizers, and the like, while drums and percussion (do bells count as percussion?) are completely absent. Probably my favorite of his solo albums.

Track listing:
1. Autumn Breeze
2. Air
3. Now and Then
4. Wind
5. After the Rain
6. Kjare Maren
7. Little Bell
8. Vintage Year
9. Multer
10. Like a Child, Like a Song

Whenever I seem to be far away


  1. S*it this one is rare and an oddball in the Rypdal catalog. No drums no killer e-guitar solos just really laid back mood music for landscapes. Brilliant stuff plus Im a sucker for the ARP string ensemble! Thanks again for posting this!

  2. ¡Muchas gracias!

  3. thanks a lot!!! one of my favourite's terje solo albums! really in love with this piece..

  4. Very cool! i love Terje's playing and didn't have this in my collection. Thank you!