Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Sussan Deihim · Richard Horowitz - Desert Equations: Azax Attra (1985)

The beginning of a fruitful collaborative relationship between American composer Richard Horowitz and Iranian vocalist Sussan Deyhim (that's the way she spells her last name everywhere else, I've never known why it's spelled "Deihim" here.) Technically, this is a compilation of two separate works (Desert Equations and Azax/Attra) released as part of Crammed Disc's Composers' Series, but they're both cut of the same cloth: tribal percussion, tasteful electronics/synth, and dense layers of Deyhim's voice in all its many permutations.

Track listing:
1. Ishtar
2. Got Away
3. I'm a Man
4. Tear
5. Azax Attra
6. Jum Jum
7. Armour
8. Desert Equations (For Brion Gysin)

You might also like: