Friday, July 19, 2013

Popol Vuh - In Den Gärten Pharaos (1971)

Popol Vuh's second album, In Den Gärten Pharaos is more intensely psychedelic than the soothing, ambient, Eastern-heavy sounds that they came to be known for. Originally comprised of just two songs, this reissue includes two additional bonus tracks. The title track has a (no surprises here) meditative quality, and is made up of queazy synths and organs, and propulsive hand drumming. "Vuh," the second song, is a breathtaking, dramatic piece that centers on elongated, minor key organ chords, and weaves a rich musical tapestry with choral samples, cymbal washes, understated percussion, and synthesizers. I believe that the two bonus tracks, both synth compositions, are the work of Florian Fricke alone, and while they lack the bracing impact of the original two pieces, they're certainly welcome here. Essential listening for any fan of experimental, psychedelic music.

Track listing:
1. In Den Gärten Pharaos
2. Vuh
3. Kha-White Structures 1
4. Kha-White Structures 2

Brothers of darkness, sons of light


  1. Thanks, Tim! Found a copy of this at my local shop a while back and loved it, but the price was *a bit* too high...

  2. Thanks for sharing good music, too bad the link is broken.
    Way on brother,

    1. Yup, I learned this lesson the hard way. Been using zippyshare and uloz for the past year or two, but left a lot of the old links up. Will re-up soon.

    2. By the way i've got Popul Vuh debut album 1972 and Quiche Maya (1973)
      if you're interested mail me