Monday, June 13, 2016

Frostmoon Eclipse - Gathering the Dark (2001)

Fides Inversa - Hanc Aciem Sola Retundit Virtus (The Algolagnia Divine) (2009)
The One - I, Master (2008)

Criminally obscure Italian black metal. Loads of acoustic guitars and some keyboards for a warm, reflective counterpoint to the lupine howls, icy riffage, and blasting. Speaking of which, the drumming is fucking phenomenal, which should come as no surprise to anyone familiar with any of drummer Gionata Potenti's many, many other killer projects -- Blut Aus Nord, Acherontas, Deathrow, Moloch, and Fides Inversa, to name a few.

Also... is that fretless bass I hear??

Track listing:
1. Where No Light Burns
2. Worms on Mankind
3. Dragon Millenium
4. Ashes
5. I Am My Worst Enemy
6. Let the World Burn
7. Dust to Exalt My Triumph
8. Ruins
9. Son of Scorn [bonus]
10. Cold Silvery Eye [bonus]
11. In Decay They Fall [bonus]

Embracing and ravishing cold death

If you like this, listen to:
Night Conquers Day -
The First Snowfall (1999)
Folkstorm -
Der Stemmen van het Woud (2009)