Friday, March 18, 2016

Stutthof - And Cosmos from Ashes to Dust (2004)

Greek black metal. Melodic tremolo picking, astral synths, and a few well-chosen symphonic samples produce a sense of epic, melancholic grandeur that's at odds with the band's moniker (look it up if you want the cold, ugly truth.)

Track listing:
1. An Invocation to Those Who Have Risen
2. Wampyric Metamorphosis
3. The Horned Moon
4. Crossing the Ninth Gate to the Kingdom of Shadows
5. Dragon the Great One
6. The Breaking of the Seventh Seal

Mighty child of the dragon

You might also like:
Alrakis - Alpha Eri (2011)
Vemod - Venter på stormene (2012)


  1. Stutthof - it was a name of german-nazi death camp located in village Sztutowo near Gdańsk in 1939, there was prisoned up to 130 000 people, in this number 65 000 was murdered. Nowadays this is a Memory Monument. Please be careful with Your posts. Some of them may by not apropiate for many of Your readers.

  2. Continuing my comment - please see this:

    1. Yup, that's why I recommended that people Google it. They definitely aren't a Nazi band, in that they write only about Satan and space and shit like that. Can't explain why they chose that for a name -- I'm guessing that they did it to push buttons. Furthermore, I could not give less of a shit what you consider 'appropriate' for 'my readers.' If you're really bothered by the fact that I'm OK with posting something like this, I would recommend not visiting my blog anymore, but I'm definitely not going to alter my policy regarding sketchy black metal. Also, this is an argument I've had many, many times, on the internet and out there in the world, so this is gonna be the end of it. Any attempts to continue our boring conversation will be brutally, unforgivingly censored.