Saturday, January 16, 2016

Steven Stapleton & Tony Wakeford - Revenge of the Selfish Shellfish (1992)

Nurse with Wound - Ostranenie 1913 (1983)
Tony Wakeford - Not All of Me Will Die (2009)

Brilliant collaborative effort from Steven Stapleton and Tony Wakeford -- of Nurse with Wound and Sol Invictus, respectively, as we all surely know. Despite it's curiously wacky title, Revenge of the Selfish Shellfish makes for a haunting, heartbreaking listen, as tracks move from blissful drone ("Falling from Heaven") to dense, industrial dark ambient ("Revenge of the Selfish Shellfish") to etherial darkwave ("Walk the White Ghost") to blasphemous neofolk ("Lucifer Before Sunrise") to thrilling, head-fucking tour-de-force ("The Frightened City". )

Track listing:
1. Falling from Heaven
2. Amoeba
3. Amphimixis
4. Revenge of the Selfish Shellfish
5. Walk the White Ghost
6. Lucifer Before Sunrise
7. Flower Dream Song
8. Our Lady of the Wild Flowers
9. The Frightened City
10. Melancholy of the Street

She and me fall together in free death

You might also like:
When - The Black Death (1992)
Dave Phillips - ? (2010)

1 comment:

  1. Interesting choice from the extended NWW ouevre. I've always found this one a bit difficult to fully get in to, and it's probably Wakeford who's the sticking point. Definitely going to give this one a fresh listen tho.