Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Black Marble - A Different Arrangement (2012)

Debut full-length from this Brooklyn coldwave duo. Synthesizer-based post-punk tunes with new wave-y pop tendencies. Vocalist Chris Stewart sounds as if he's delivering his detached performance from the other end of a mile-long tunnel. The sonic template for each song is virtually identical - prominent bass lines, drum machine, simple but effective synth melodies, the aforementioned ghostly vocals - really, it's just a question of whether they use a major or minor key. But it's an indelible sound, and the songwriting is topnotch. Can't wait to see where they go from here!

Track listing:
1. Cruel Summer
2. MSQ No-Extra
3. A Great Design
4. A Different Arrangement
5. Limitations
6. UK
7. Static
8. Pretender
9. Last
10. Safe Minds
11. Unrelated



  1. Thank you so much!

  2. Man I missed these dudes when they played here. I think it was a free gig too. Was inside a local skate-shop downtown. By far one of the best synthpop bands to emerge since the 80's. This album is absolutely phenomenal. Was pretty shocked that this came out on Sub-Pop. Sounds like it was plucked right out of the back in the day days. Great to see them getting some love here.