Monday, April 13, 2015

Coaltar of the Deepers - Yukari Telepath (2007)

Dreamy, pop-y shoegaze/alt rock with a weakness for crystalline, arpeggiating dance keyboards, gauzy guitar textures, and brief glimpses of "death metal." Though they give the band personality, I've always found their metal parts a bit weak, so I was pleased to hear that they'd toned down that aspect of their sound on Yukari Telepath. In fact, it's probably their most sonically cohesive record to date. It's still utterly unique (and utterly Japanese) music, with a number of chill-inducing, mind-melting moments, just with less zaniness.

Track listing:
1. Introduction of Zoei
2. Zoei
3. Wipeout (Retake)
4. Water Bird
5. Hedorian Forever
6. Aquarian Age
7. Automation Structures
8. Interlude
9. Lemurian Seed
10. AOA
11. Yukari Telepath
12. Carnival (Oumagatoki Mix)
13. Evil Line
14. Ribbon No Kishi
15. Deepless

Without hesitation into door away


  1. i love this band. i love your blog! IMPRESSIONANTE! AMAZING

  2. Hi Mr Spirit, just passing by to say a big thank you for what you do for our ears. This is only the second time (after the excellent french website gutsofdarkness) that I discover so many diverse and great music. Keep on sharing those beauties!