Saturday, April 4, 2015

Disappears - Era (2013)

Disappears are the kind of band that seemingly begs to be compared to other bands, in that they have an immediately familiar sound, but their execution makes them hard to pin down.

They are, at their core, a dark, icy, modern post-punk band, with a lot in common with early These New Puritans or Walking with Thee-era Clinic. However, their sound is thunderous and enveloping in a way that reminds me of the rougher end of shoegaze, placing them in the company of bands like A Place to Bury Strangers and I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness; Also, there's a great deal of repetition involved, as well as some dissonant guitar work that aligns them with no-wave, territory that's quite familiar to Steve Shelley, their drummer.

Track listing:
1. Girl
2. Power
3. Ultra
4. Era
5. Weird House
6. Elite Typical
7. New House

Minor patterns
Nothing happens

No comments:

Post a Comment