Friday, April 17, 2015

Elysian Blaze - Blood Geometry (2012)

Two discs, eight songs, and over two hours of epic, ghostly, funeral doom-infused black metal. For the uninitiated: Elysian Blaze is a one-man band from Australia who, for many, has pretty much set the standard for the subgenre, and Blood Geometry is, thus far, the project's crowning achievement. It's majestic, sorrowful, and deeply hypnotic without relying too much on repetition, and boasts a more dramatic, even ceremonial, less overtly depressive feel than past works. The sound is densely layered, and every musical element (guitar, drums, piano, multiple keyboards, vocals) is completely drenched in reverb, giving the songs a haunting, far-away quality, as though they're being channeled into our realm from the spirit world. Overall, this record is a straight-up masterpiece -- one of the greatest metal records of the decade so far -- and anyone who tells you otherwise is wrong.

Track listing:
-Disc One-
1. A Choir for Venus
2. The Temple Is Falling
3. Sigils that Beckon Death
4. Blood Geometry
-Disc Two-
1. A Blade for Twilight
2. Pyramid of the Cold Son
3. Blood of Ancients, Blood of Hatred
4. Void Alchemy

Rise from where I bled...
... and rend my body dead


  1. Really piqued my curiosity with that writeup! Nothing like a good two-hour album (personal favourites including Agharta and The Seer) to shake out the cobwebs.

  2. Thanks a lot for this.

  3. You're amazing, thanks a lot my friend.