Friday, February 26, 2016

Arckanum - Helvítismyrkr (2011)

Arckanum - Fran Marder (1995)

7th full-length from this longstanding Swedish solo black metal force. Nothing particularly groundbreaking at work here -- though the strings on "Svartr Ok Þursligr" are pretty fucking rad -- just beefy, melodic-ish, ass-kicking black metal. Arckanum has never released anything that's fallen short of stellar, and Helvítismyrkr is no exception.

Track listing:
1. Helvitt
2. Myrkrin vinna hefnt
3. Ór djúpum
4. In svarta
5. Nifldreki
6. Svartr ok þursligr
7. Þrúðgelmis hlaut
8. Sísoltinn

Wolven eyes

For those who like this:
Ofermod - Mystérion Tés Anomias (1998)
Visthia - Reditus Conscientia (2006)

1 comment:

  1. No comments on Arckanum? Hmm. Antikosmos is one of my desert island discs. But maybe that's just me. The debut Thulen, along with Comecon's Converging Conspiracies were the doors that opened black metal for these ears. Much thanks for the post.