Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Merzbow & Christoph Heemann - Sleeper Awakes on the Edge of the Abyss (1993)

A full-length collaboration between German composer Christoph Heemann and the almighty Merzbow. Largely devoid of the sheets of harsh static for which Merzbow is best known, Sleeper Awakes on the Edge of the Abyss journeys through dark ambient, fields recordings, drone, musique concrète, and virtually any other form of experimental music you can think of.

Track listing:
1. Tunneling
2. Mandala
3. Eagle
4. Sleeper
5. Doorstep

Natural encounter

If you like this, listen to:
Steven Stapleton & Tony Wakeford -
Revenge of the Selfish Shellfish (1992)
Charles Bobuck -
Chuck's Ghost Music (2011)

1 comment:

  1. Grand stuff here, thank you for the post. I wouldn't have spotted any Merzbow here had his name not been mentioned. I dig a wide variety of weirdness (hence my routine visit to the mighty Opium Hum), but the appeal of the harsh noise wall stuff escapes me. Thankfully Mr. Heeman had other ideas for Merzbow's input here.