Saturday, December 13, 2014

Constance Demby - Skies Above Skies (1978)

Previously on OPIUM HUM:
Constance Demby - Sunborne (1980)
Constance Demby - Sacred Space Music (1982)

Constance Demby's early works are among the most stately, transcendent music to come out of the New Age movement. Maybe it's her classical training, maybe it's her powerful but restrained vocals, maybe it's her instrument of choice -- hammered dulcimer -- but it feels as though these records actually reached the heavenly heights that so many of her peers merely invoked. Demby's debut album, Skies Above Skies, is, of course, built around her virtuosic hammered dulcimer-playing, and a bit of synthesizer, but features a stronger emphasis on her vocals than would be heard on her next few records.

Track listing:
1. Om Mani Padme Hum
2. Endless
3. Peace of God
4. El Mie
5. St. Francis Prayer
6. Sant Ji
7. God Is

Hidden light shining in every creature


  1. Sorry friend, the 1982 CD-link doesn't work. Thanks a lot. Carlos

    1. Just fixed it. I hate sendspace, they clog up my inbox and delete all my files. Never again. Regardless, the link works, enjoy!

  2. Thanks a lot! Carlos

  3. Thanks! I only really knew her from her 'space bass' so I'm interested in this