Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Sasha Matson - Steel Chords, I-5 (1993)

Two gorgeous pieces by American composer Sasha Matson, the first of which transports the shimmering, etherial sounds of pedal steel guitar to a sharp, high-minded classical setting. This combination is completely new to me, I absolutely love it, and I have a customer who sold a large pile of classical and jazz CDs to my store to thank for inadvertently introducing me to it. Readers who miss my ECM posts would do well to check this out.

Track listing:
1. Steel Chords (Triple Concerto for Pedal Steel Guitar, Violins and Strings): I. Steel Chords
2. Steel Chords: II. Steel Songs
3. Steel Chords: III. Steel Dances
4. I-5 (String Quintet and Harp): I. Windmills
5. I-5: II. Slaughterhouse
6. I-5: III. Lost Near Bakersfield
7. I-5: IV. Grapevine
8. I-5: V: City Limits

Ithaca is gorges

You might also enjoy:
Bill Connors - Swimming with
a Hole in My Body
Ketil Bjørnstad & David Darling -
The River (1997)


  1. gorgeous, unique sound - great find!

  2. Thank you, this is lovely! Steve Reich needs to invest in a pedal steel...

  3. thanks for yr great site. this looks interesting. do you know the work of susan alcorm? she is an experimental pedal steel player. tom carter recorded one of her albums. which isn't a role he is in much. and she has done a duo with eugene chadbourne. her solo work like the recorded tom recorded would interest you i think

  4. Could you pls re-up this one? Zippy is no longer available in several regions / countries. Tks & Best regards-Carlos