Friday, May 8, 2015

Eloy - Silent Cries and Mighty Echoes (1979)

Previously on OPIUM HUM:
Eloy - Colours (1980)

A bona-fide space rock classic. Silent Cries and Mighty Echoes finds these German greats at their most expansive and Pink Floyd-y, with extended instrumental sections, fantastical lyrics, and their trademark sleek yet far-out, synth- and organ-fueled sound. They have so many great records, but if I had to pick one, this would be it. If you're not feeling it, I'm pretty sure you're in the wrong place.

Track listing:
1. Astral Entrance and Master of Sensation
2. The Apocalypse
3. Pilot to Paradise
4. De Labore Solis
5. Mighty Echoes

It is here, it is near, it is by our side
It is you, it is me, it's our guiding light
It is real, so unreal, it's the magic sign
Makes us rise, makes us kneel on the edge of time


  1. You picked a good one indeed, my fav by Eloy also. More people need to enjoy this.

  2. Phenomenal record. Eloy are often overlooked. It's a shame. Fantastic stuff