Sunday, September 21, 2014

Veil - Dolor (2005)

First-rate depressive black metal from famed metal hub Minnesota. An atmospheric, static-y wash of heavily distorted guitars, funereal drumming, and strategically placed, high-pitched screams. Though they've been around for over a decade, Veil has released precious little music -- a two-song promo, this demo (which includes the promo songs and a Burzum cover), and a full-length album -- but they've made it count, as this is truly draining, mournful stuff.

Track listing:
1. Suicide Winds
2. Dirge
3. I Follow
4. Ea, Lord of the Depths
5. Suicide Winds (Reprise)
6. Endless Night

Rulers fall
Empires end
Change is eternal

1 comment:

  1. Veil: "NSBM, yes, but I like it, too!" Great music, nonetheless. Many thanks!