Friday, February 16, 2018

Dan Hartman - New Green Clear Blue (1989)

Shimmering new age synth. Dan Hartman spent some time in the Edgar Winter Group way back when, singing vocals on classic rock radio staple "Free Ride". He then went solo and, over the course of the next decade and a half, released a string of (occasionally great) disco and pop records. I don't know what prompted this abrupt leap into ambient music, but it's an absolutely beautiful move, in both theory and execution.

Track listing:
1. Sigh of Relief
2. Romance
3. New Green / Clear Blue
4. The Swan
5. Beautiful Mist
6. Alpha Waves
7. Adrift in a Red Sky
8. Scaramanga
9. Soviet Nights
10. Hope of No End
11. Home

Come on and sit here by my side

If you like this, listen to:
Harold Budd -
Lovely Thunder (1986)
Michael Stearns -
Floating Whispers (1987)

1 comment: