Monday, February 26, 2018

Mournful Congregation - The Dawning of Mournful Hymns (2002)

Australian funeral doom royalty. The Dawning of Mournful Hymns is a two-disc compilation containing every track from their first two demos and debut LP, as well as a track from their split with Worship. Holds together as an album remarkably well. The less-polished delivery -- a little slop, some out of tune guitars, totally barebones production -- actually makes it all the more miserable, and, if it counts, it's my favorite Mournful Congregation LP, and possibly my favorite funeral doom record altogether.

Track listing:
  -Disc One-
1. Fading Light of a Dying Sun
2. Astralic Dreams
3. Weeping
4. Suffer the Storms
5. Heads Bowed
6. Miriam
7. An Epic Dream of Desire
  -Disc Two-
1. Skyward Gaze, Earthward Touch
2. Remembrance of the Transcending Moon
3. Empirical Choirs
4. Tears from a Grieving Heart
5. Opal of the Stream Beneath the Hills
6. Elemental
7. The Epitome of Gods and Men Alike

As the sun goes down and darkness arrives
My mind flees from fear of death

You'd also enjoy:
Funeral -
Tragedies (1995)
Aldebaran -
Embracing the Lightless Depths (2012)