Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Until Death Overtakes Me - Symphony I: Deep Dark Red (2001)

Belgian funeral doom. Cheap-sounding keyboards, extremely minimal drums (seemingly a mix of live and programmed), static-y guitars, and some of the lowest, most miserable gutturals I've ever heard. Maybe a bit scatterbrained, but the overall effect is mesmerizing and surreal. And it's a deeply personal, undeniably singular sound -- a somewhat rare feat for the subgenre.

Track listing:
1. Silent Dreams
2. They Never Hope
3. The Light of Dying Summers
4. Never Again
5. Careless, Painless, Far Away
6. Towards the Emptiness

Dead trees rise from the snow

More like this:
Mordor - Prayer to... (1993)
Mistress of the Dead - Buried (2006)

1 comment: